Education? Where?

Occams-Razor-150x150

I have often wondered about the state of education today. It began when my son was in college, and my high school text books (which I still largely have) had much more information and detail than the texts that he was using. But, while a puzzlement, I failed to put into a broader context until today.

The American Thinker has an article that really struck a nerve, and puts the shortcomings of our alleged education system in focus. Now, my understanding is far clearer, and yours will be as well, after you read the article here.

It just lays out the enormity of the task before us. We slept while the “Progressives” took over the most basic function of civil society. Which, by the way, George Will describes as literally dying out.

7 thoughts on “Education? Where?

  1. Roger, this hits the nail on the head. I experienced this first hand, as the simple requirements in early education have been reduced as so many kids have zero skills entering school. Today’s parents do not care to teach their kids other than to put them in front of the TV. The schools are just a reflection of that, and since every kid needs a 1st place trophy, they have to stop keeping score. Before too long the valedictorian speech will be given by every single “graduate” to not hurt someone’s feelings.

  2. occamsedge says:

    J,
    I fear that it runs a lot deeper than that. While true that parents seem to have largely abrogated their basic responsibilities, I am under the opinion that the “Education” establishment has downgraded the system on purpose. What I considered to be basic education is either gone, or so diminished as to be meaningless. History, Civics, Literature. Writing. Even Science, and Scientific principles and procedures. Yes, TV is a big problem, with parents that park their kids in front of it. But the lack of true education expectations, combined with a general dumbing down of the system is worse.

  3. mlbirck says:

    My son is a freshman at a competitive private high school. The education that he and his classmates are receiving is far superior to what I received in public elementary and private high school 30 years ago. The top students in our country are amazing. In fact, when I leave a school event, I inevitably have hope in the future.

    I don’t disagree that my son’s experience is an anomaly — that his parents pay for. We will be looking at colleges in the next few years and I’ll let you know what I think of colleg teaching.

  4. Bruce says:

    Well, finally there is at least the first trickle of acknowledgement that the system is failing our children and grandchildren. This goes beyond ‘victim’ history, social studies of celebrities, lack of practical math skills………I am dismayed that my grandchildren are encouraged to embrace ‘moral relativism’ as acceptable. My 13 year old grandson did not know the definition of ‘character’ When I shared with him that it is measured by ‘doing the right thing when no one else is looking’ seemed to be a surprise for him. The last thing is the fact that ‘institution mediocrity’ is the rule of the day. Competition and the reward for being the best at something is now being framed as negative. It goes beyond not keeping score at soccer games to not holding the schools accountable for their failure to giving the unions $26B + of GM stock and taking from the successful bond holders the money to pay for that. I am quite sure that the rank an file were not given any stock…….oh well they can’t play on the private golf courses that the bosses enjoy or fly in the private planes………just because.
    The voters asked for this……..they voted for this group.
    The makers are losing to the takers.
    “Success is a journey not a destination.” Too bad that is left out of education today along with the joy of completing something difficult. No wonder there is a crisis in self-confidence with our young.

  5. uttrep says:

    Roger – you’ll get no argument from me! Our need to take back this area of our society becomes clearer every day! (jbond)

  6. Cal says:

    Hi Rodger As I write my report on the state of “education today” I am having to put down my ideas of what the basics should be for grades 1-6. I cannot remember how much was taught to us in those years. It would be nice to see what was taught in US Gov’t and history classes in high school. I see that you have kept you text books and I think that was a good idea. Just wanted to let you know that.

Leave a Reply

